PRESENTS

Voluntary Carbon Markets

A Gold Rush

13 - 14 September 2022

Sponsors

Keynote Speakers

Keynote name

Job Title, Company Name

Keynote name

Job Title, Company Name

Keynote name

Job Title, Company Name

Event Overview

Voluntary Carbon Markets (VCM) are the bridge to a world where technologies can decarbonise global supply chains. Capital is being abundantly deployed into every facet of the VCM ecosystem from project development to derivatives, all in anticipation of a marketplace that could be worth $300bn by 2030.


However, the economic opportunity is clouding the true intent of carbon offsets, with concerns over quality, transparency, and speculation becoming commonplace. How can we build a model where economics and environmental mission align? Climate Transformed’s exploration into every facet of voluntary carbon markets seeks to answer this most fundamental of questions.

AGENDA

TUESDAY

13 SEPTEMBER

TIME

17:00 SYD | 15:00 SGT | 08:00 BST 03:00 EDT | 00:00 PDT

Session

Is Blockchain Essential for VCM Transparency? (Asia/EU Focused) 

During this 55 minute conversation, we will discuss using Blockchain to democratize carbon offsets, the exponential growth in the number of vendors, and whether Blockchain plays a credible mission-oriented role in accelerating change towards decarbonising supply chains

18:00 SYD | 16:00 SGT | 09:00 BST 04:00 EDT | 01:00 PDT

Voluntary Carbon Markets in ASEAN: Challenges and Opportunities

Throughout this conversation, we will discuss the opportunity sets in the region, the emergence of a more rigorous regulatory framework, the ongoing quest for transparency and whether regional goals are compatible with global corporates hungry for offsets.

19:00 SYD | 17:00 SGT | 10:00 BST 05:00 EDT | 02:00 PDT

Project Development – The Challenge of Supply

The key area we would like to explore is whether or not the availability of high quality and transparent supply can keep up with the extraordinary demand for offsets and feed the growth in exchanges and trading platforms in recent years. Issues such as transparency, scientific verification and, of course, infrastructure  cost will also be addressed

20:00 SYD | 18:00 SGT | 11:00 BST 06:00 EDT | 03:00 PDT

Transparency – The Essential Element for Sustainable Growth

The Transparency panel will be a deep dive into the essential element of how this industry thrives. Without project and pricing transparency, VCMs will struggle to meet their moral and commercial ambitions.

20:00 SYD | 18:00 SGT | 11:00 BST 06:00 EDT | 03:00 PDT

Compliance Markets – You Can’t Have One Without the Other?

While this conference focuses on voluntary carbon markets, it’s impossible to have a thorough analysis without a complete assessment of the opportunities, challenges, and future direction of compliance markets. The faultlines around Article 6 and Compliance markets will drive standards in VCM in the years ahead, and we will look at the impact of compliance markets in the EU, US and China.

21:00 SYD | 19:00 SGT | 12:00 BST 07:00 EDT | 04:00 PDT

Resource Nationalism – Are Nature-based Offsets Next?

This panel is significant to the overall framework for VCM as we believe investors are underestimating the risk to the entire ecosystem. Comparisons to resource nationalism, be that food or industrial commodities are relevant, particularly in the context of Article 6. We will explore whether countries such as Indonesia or Brazil could limit foreign corporates from accessing their vital sources of offset supply.

22:00 SYD | 20:00 SGT | 13:00 BST 08:00 EDT | 05:00 PDT

Will Voluntary Credits be an Essential Component of an Investment Portfolio?

During the panel, we will address the key questions in the mind of investors. Are voluntary carbon offsets the uncorrelated investment that long-duration investment portfolios strive for? We will discuss liquidity, transparency and the idea of whether long-only, passive investors distract from the true climate mission of carbon offsets

23:00 SYD | 21:00 SGT | 14:00 BST 09:00 EDT | 06:00 PDT

The Implications of Article 6

A broad conversation about the true intent of Article 6 and how this is often lost and underappreciated by investors who treat offset markets as nothing more than commodities. Is Article 6 compatible with the infrastructure currently being built out? Our goal is to bridge the gap between Article 6 and how VCMs are evolving.

Andrea Bonzanni, International Policy Director, IETA

featuring Andrea Bonzanni

International Policy Director, IETA

IETA

00:00 SYD | 22:00 SGT | 15:00 BST 10:00 EDT | 07:00 PDT

Ratings: A Prerequisite for a Thriving Market

For voluntary carbon markets to be institutionalized and to fulfil both investment goals and environmental ambitions, they need to be a well-established risk framework. Just as credit markets could not function properly without a rating, the evolution of VCM will require a set of formulaic and rigorous risk assessment parameters. This is more than just price transparency. Investors need to know what they are paying for and whether it meets their objectives. A rigorous rating methodology is essential.

01:00 SYD | 23:00 SGT | 16:00 BST 11:00 EDT | 08:00 PDT

Exchanges and Trading: The Backbone of a Multi-billion Dollar Marketplace

This panel discussion will revolve around the opportunities and challenges facing new and established entrants who are spending 100s of millions of dollars to grab market share in what can best be described as an arms race. We will discuss pricing transparency, limits to high-quality supply, and  if there is a need for consolidation

02:00 SYD | 00:00 SGT | 17:00 BST 12:00 EDT | 09:00 PDT

Keynote – Carbon Standards for a Sustainable Future

Andrei Cherny CEO Aspiration

Andrei Cherny

CEO, Aspiration

03:00 SYD | 01:00 SGT | 18:00 BST 13:00 EDT | 10:00 PDT

Is Speculation Upending the True Purpose of VCM?

We will address the trade-off between greater liquidity and price distortion that speculation provides. Deep liquid markets are desirable, but doesn’t that distract from the goals of VCMs? Should VCMs be a trading vehicle for hedge funds, and how is that possibly mission-driven?

04:00 SYD | 02:00 SGT | 19:00 BST 14:00 EDT | 11:00 PDT

Are Investors Receiving the Value they Strive for?

In a quest for Net-Zero, companies across the globe are spending billions on carbon offset projects and the technologies that will decarbonize their supply chain. Are investors getting true value from carbon offset investments? Are supply bottlenecks inevitable as firms outbid each other for the highest quality projects? Does there come a time where cost and quality lead companies to find alternatives to the nature-based offsets they have been supporting? For this conversation, we go to the source with the firms using their capital for change.

05:00 SYD | 03:00 SGT | 20:00 BST 15:00 EDT | 12:00 PDT

Is Blockchain Essential for VCM Transparency? (Americas Focused)

During this 55 minute conversation, we will discuss using Blockchain to democratize carbon offsets, the exponential growth in the number of vendors, and whether Blockchain plays a credible mission-oriented role in accelerating change towards decarbonising supply chains

WEDNESDAY

14 SEPTEMBER

TIME

17:00 SYD | 15:00 SGT | 08:00 BST 03:00 EDT | 00:00 PDT

Session

Blockchain Spotlight

18:00 SYD | 16:00 SGT | 09:00 BST 04:00 EDT | 01:00 PDT

Exchanges Spotlight

19:00 SYD | 17:00 SGT | 10:00 BST 05:00 EDT | 02:00 PDT

Rating Agencies Spotlight

20:00 SYD | 18:00 SGT | 11:00 BST 06:00 EDT | 03:00 PDT

BREAK

21:00 SYD | 19:00 SGT | 12:00 BST 07:00 EDT | 04:00 PDT

Project Managers Spotlight

22:00 SYD | 20:00 SGT | 13:00 BST 08:00 EDT | 05:00 PDT

Asset Managers Spotlight

23:00 SYD | 21:00 SGT | 14:00 BST 09:00 EDT | 06:00 PDT

Scaling the Amazon

Did you know you can acquire one hectare of land in the Amazon for $100? Is it any wonder that this land is being snapped up by farming interests, burned and used to harvest beef, soybeans and other global crops producing 1.2bn tonnes of CO2 emissions each year. That same hectare can earn $100 of carbon credits per annum. Moss Earth is determined to convince Brazilian landowners, farmers and the government that protecting this essential resource can be economically viable. Luis Adaime leads Moss Earth, a project developer, using data, satellite imaging and blockchain to rethink the economic viability of the Amazon.

Luis Adaime_CEO_Moss Earth

Luis Adaime

CEO, Moss Earth

00:00 SYD | 22:00 SGT | 15:00 BST 10:00 EDT | 07:00 PDT

Are Investors Receiving the Value they Strive for?

01:00 SYD | 23:00 SGT | 16:00 BST 11:00 EDT | 08:00 PDT

 Investors Spotlight

02:00 SYD | 00:00 SGT | 17:00 BST 12:00 EDT | 09:00 PDT

C-suite Spotlight

03:00 SYD | 01:00 SGT | 18:00 BST 13:00 EDT | 10:00 PDT

C-suite Spotlight

Pricing

Full Event, Sep. 13-14

$29.00

Day 1, Sep. 13

$19.99

Day 2, Sep. 14

$19.99

All registrations include a 1-month free subscription to Climate Transformed, with full access to all events on-demand

Contact Us

climate@investingtransformed.com
+1 646 593 4018

logo
CONTACT US
climate@investingtransformed.com
+1 646 593 4018
CT_OPT-2.png
Subscribe to our NEWSLETTER
logo

Become a Climate Transformed Member